Using Picture Books to Teach Tech, Part 2

A while back I wrote about my love for picture books, and how I’ve used them to introduce various concepts (especially ones related to technology) in a post titled Using Picture Books to Teach Tech.  Since then I came across several other great books that I have used in my tech program  (or that I can’t wait to use soon) that I wanted to add to the list of Great Books to teach Tech.  Here they are:

But I Read it on the Internet by Toni Buzzeo

but i read it on the internet

This book is about evaluating, verifying, and citing sources.  Although it deals with primary, print and online resources, it focuses on website evaluation and provides a handy checklist for that purpose.  It also explains the meaning and importance of URL endings (.com, .edu). It’s a great book for introducing kids to online research.  For more about this topic, see my earlier post: I know it’s true…I read it online

The Dot by Peter Reynolds

TheDotThe possibilities are endless for using this book by Peter Reynolds.  It’s about motivation, determination, creativity, believing in oneself, and ‘passing it forward’.  In my tech classes I have used it to inspire students to create their own dot pictures, as seen here: Grade 2 Dot Day Art

It Looked Like Spilt Milk by Charles G. Shaw

It_Looked_Like_Spilt_Milk-pict

Although not new, I recently discovered how this gem of a book can inspire young artist to see and create different objects from ‘spills’.  Take a look at how we have modified this classic with my students, giving it a different spin: It Looked Like Spilt (Chocolate) Milk

 

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt 

crayons

In this fun book, the different colours of crayons write a letter to a child about why he should use them more or less often.  Students can have a lot of fun writing a response letter to a crayon of their choice, explaining why it’s needed and why it shouldn’t quit.  See our grade 1/2 example here: Dear Crayons

 

 

 

Posted on February 27, 2014, in Digital Stories, Ed Tech, Picture Books, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Many thanks for including my book, The Dot on your list!

Leave a comment